Merge Multiple Google Photos Accounts into a Single Account

Updated on 15 May 2020 by

Google Photos is arguably one of the best Gallery apps out there. It is unlike any other gallery app available for Android or iOS. Google Photos is in no way a traditional Gallery app and that is the best thing about it. You can sync all your media such as photos and videos automatically and then access it across any other device. You can access Google photos from Android, iOS, Mac, Windows. All you need is a web browser and you are good to go.

While Google Photos has many advantages such as automatic backups, cross-platform accessibility – it also comes with a few shortcomings as well. One of the most complained about features of the Google Photos is the 15 GB limit to upload/backup original quality photos. By merging multiple Google Photos accounts, we can easily overcome this particular shortcoming.

Merge Multiple Google Photos Accounts

By merging two Google Photos accounts, you would be able to store 30 GB (15 GB in each account) worth of media. The advantage is, you would be able to access all the media from both the account from inside a single account itself!  For this process, you would need two Google Photos accounts. You can do this on both the web version and app. For this guide, we are using the Android app. Read ahead for the guide.

Step 1. Configure Sharing settings in the 1st Account

  1. On your phone, open Google Photos and tap on the menu and then choose settings.Merge-Google-Photos-Accounts-5
  2. Under the ‘Sharing’ options, tap on the ‘Shared libraries’.Merge-Google-Photos-Accounts-2
  3. Tap on ‘Get Started’ and on the next screen, select the Google Account with which you want to share the photos.
  4. In the Settings screen that comes up, make sure ‘All photos’ select and the ‘Only show photos since this day’ option is ‘Off’.Merge-Google-Photos-Accounts-4
  5. Next, click on the ‘Send Invitation’ button.Merge-Google-Photos-Accounts-3

Step 2. Configure Sharing settings in the 2nd Account

  1. You will not receive an email with the invitation to the second account. Here, tap on the ‘Google Photos’ button. When the Google Photos open up, click on the ‘Accept’ button.
  2. Next, you will be asked to Share back to the 1st account. Click on ‘Get started’.  Merge-Google-Photos-Accounts-9
  3. In the Settings screen that comes up, make sure ‘All photos’ select and the ‘Only show photos since this day’ option is ‘Off’.Merge-Google-Photos-Accounts-10
  4. Next, click on the ‘Send Invitation’ button.

And now, you would receive an email with the invitation to the 1st account. Repeat the same process and you are golden. Now you should be able to access the photos from both the account in both the accounts. They are automatically synced always.

How to access the merged photos in Google Photos?

In order to access the photos that are merged/shared with your account, you need to go the ‘Shared’ tab (bottom right corner) > Select the library that is shared to you to see all the photos from that account.

You can repeat this process to merge as many Google accounts as possible; there are no limits that we know of, at the moment!

Leave a Comment